Skip To Navigation Menu | Skip To Content
  • Your Basket
  • Checkout
  • Buy Gift Vouchers
What's On Quick Links...
The Robin2 Hotel
Live Recording Available
Robin 2 T-shirt
Your Basket
A Top UK Music Venue
Classic Rock - Best Prog Venue
The Robin 2
20-28 Mount Pleasant
WV14 7LJ

TEL: 01902 401211
FAX: 01902 401418

Get Directions
Windmill Radio - The Prog Mill
Musical Exchanges

British Soul Pioneers:


Thursday 16 March 2017

Advance Ticket Price: £17.50 Door Price: £19.50
Add To Basket

KokomoFull 10 - piece band live on stage 8.30pm

Formed in 1973, Kokomo originally consisted of four vocalists: Dyan Birch, Frank Collins, Paddie McHugh and Tony O’Malley (also on keys) – all from ’60s pop sensations ‘Arrival’. Alan Spenner (bass) and Neil Hubbard (guitar) were recruited from Joe Cocker’s ‘Grease Band’; Mel Collins (sax) from King Crimson, and percussionist Jody Linscott (who went on to tour with The Who, Elton John, Dave Gilmour and more), Terry Stannard (drums) and Jim Mullen (guitar) completed the 10-piece line-up.

Kokomo launched onto the U.K. pub rock scene where their loose-limbed funk workouts were in an absolute class of their own and they took London by storm!
In early 1975, taken on by manager Steve O’Rourke’s (also Pink Floyd’s manager), Kokomo finally broke out of the pubs and the band joined the seminal ‘Naughty Rhythms’ tour alongside Dr. Feelgood and Chilli Willi & the Red Hot Peppers. CBS was similarly enamoured, signing Kokomo and issuing the band’s self-titled debut album that summer.
Bob Dylan, who was signed to the same label, also admired the group — when Kokomo visited New York that July to launch their album in America, Dylan recruited them to the early sessions for his forthcoming ‘Desire’ album.
Despite top-rate management and record label on board, successful inroads into the U.S. R&B charts, extensive UK & US tours (often supporting UK’s other renown soul/funk outfits – the Average White Band), and a second album ‘Rise & Shine’, by January 1977 the band’s melt down was such that an indefinite hiatus was announced. Line-up changes and the financial difficulties forced members of Kokomo to seek work with other artists. Although, after an extended sabbatical, a further studio album was released in 1982, by and large, that was then that, further compounded by the tragic premature death of influential bassist Alan Spenner in August 1991.
Kokomo’s enduring pedigree is evidenced by how many of the original members have gone on to enjoy considerable success in their subsequent careers. Jim Mullen is now a much feted award-winning jazz guitarist, Neil Hubbard’s discography is impressive to say the least – recording and touring with the likes of Joe Cocker’s Grease Band, Roxy Music, Robert Palmer, BB King, Buddy Guy, Dexy’s… and is at present back working with Bryan Ferry, Jody Linscott continues to work with everyone from McCartney to Will Young, Mel Collins’ sax work has graced albums and gigs by Dire Straits, Eric Clapton, and the Rolling Stones, to name but a few, and recently found himself back touring with King Crimson; Tony O’Malley has forged a successful solo career here and in Europe, Frank Collins toured and recorded with Terence Trent D’Arby and he, along with Dyan Birch and Paddie McHugh, were in great demand as session vocalists and toured with Bryan Ferry amongst others.

In 2014, Kokomo fan and music promoter Sue Martin approached eight members of the original line-up following an enquiry about reforming the band to headline a new summer festival – to Sue’s delight they all said yes and what followed was a series of packed reunion gigs proving that the band is grooving as well as ever.
Sadly Dyan Birch is unable to continue performing due to poor health, however the band are delighted that the sensational talent of Helen-May Harrison has stepped into Dyan’s shoes to deliver those exclusive Kokomo vocal harmonies and captivating solos.
In 2015 Kokomo were invited to join the "Soul Summit" as part of EFG London Jazz Festival, with old touring partners the Average White Band. The show sold out the Royal Festival Hall to critical acclaim with both bands receiving standing ovations so richly deserved.

The line up:
Tony O'Malley (vocals/keys)
Frank Collins (vocals)
Paddie McHugh (vocals)
Helena-May Harrison (vocals)
Neil Hubbard (guitar)
Jim Mullen (guitar)
Mel Collins (sax)
Jody Linscott (congas)
Andy Treacey (drums)
Jennifer Maidman (bass)

Advance Ticket Price: £17.50 Door Price: £19.50
Add To Basket
Previous Gig: 15 March 2017: Hazel O
Next Gig: 17 March 2017: Flash - A tribute to Queen

T&Cs | Privacy Policy | Site Map | Website by VALTEX
Checking Ticket Server Status